

PRESIDENTIAL INVESTITURE

Detroit Institute of Arts March 18, 2024

About President Kimberly Andrews Espy

Dr. Kimberly Andrews Espy is the 13th president of Wayne State University. A respected leader with more than 25 years of higher education experience, she previously served as the provost and senior vice president at the University of Texas at San Antonio, where she promoted social mobility and academic excellence. An elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, her research on child development has been continuously funded by the NIH since 2002. President Espy holds a Ph.D. in clinical neuropsychology from the University of Houston and has contributed significantly to her field while serving on numerous national and state leadership boards.

Learn more at president.wayne.edu.

PROCESSIONAL

"Procession of Nobles," by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and "Pomp and Circumstance March No. 1," by Edward Elgar

WELCOME

Laurie Lauzon Clabo, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

MUSICAL SELECTION

"Lift Every Voice and Sing," written by James Weldon Johnson and composed by John Rosamond Johnson. Performed by College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts students Shannon Dingle, Taylor Johnson-King and Jaela Beeks.

NATIONAL ANTHEM

Andrew Montano

Class of 2022, current graduate student College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts

SALUTATIONS

Paul Kaufmann, J.D., Ph.D. Spouse of President Espy

David Rosenberg, M.D.

Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences School of Medicine

Fatima Yahya

Class of 2023

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Irvin D. Reid Honors College

Gary Torgow

Chairman, Huntington National Bank

Eva Garza Dewaelsche

President and CEO. SER Metro Detroit

The Honorable Mike Duggan

Mayor of the City of Detroit

The Honorable Warren Evans

Wayne County Executive

The Honorable Garlin Gilchrist II Lt. Governor of the State of Michigan

REMARKS

Geri Richmond, Ph.D.

Under Secretary for Science and Innovation U.S. Department of Energy

INTRODUCTION OF PRESIDENT

David Francis, Ph.D.

Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair Department of Psychology Director, Texas Institute for Measurement, Evaluation, and Statistics University of Houston

INVESTITURE

Shirley Stancato and Bryan C. Barnhill II
Chair and Vice Chair, Wayne State University Board of Governors

ADDRESS

Kimberly Andrews Espy, Ph.D.
President

MUSICAL PERFORMANCE

Supremes tribute by College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts students Shannon Dingle, Taylor Johnson-King and Jaela Beeks

RECESSIONAL

"The Sinfonians," by Clifton Williams

Wayne State University Board of Governors

Shirley Stancato, *chair*, Bryan C. Barnhill II, *vice chair*, Danielle Atkinson, Michael Busuito, Mark Gaffney, Marilyn Kelly, Anil Kumar, Terri Lynn Land, Kimberly Andrews Espy, *ex officio*

UNIVERSITY LEADERSHIP

Kimberly Andrews Espy, President

Laurie Lauzon Clabo, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ali Abolmaali, Dean, College of Engineering

Boris Baltes, Senior Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs and Associate Vice President of Academic Personnel

Denise Taliaferro Baszile, Dean, College of Education

Linda Beale, President, Academic Senate

Richard A. Bierschbach, Dean, Law School

Ramona Benkert, Acting Dean, College of Nursing

Paul Bracke, Dean, University Libraries and the School of Information Sciences

Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, Dean, Graduate School

Brian Cummings, Dean, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Rob J. Davenport, Associate Vice President for Facilities Planning and Management

Hasan Elahi, Dean, College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts

Ahmad M. Ezzeddine, Vice President for Academic Student Affairs and Global Engagement

Bethany Gielczyk, Chief Financial Officer and Interim Senior Vice President for Business Affairs and Treasurer

Carolyn P. Hafner, Associate Vice President for Human Resources

Stephanie Hartwell, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Hayden Johnson, President, Student Senate

Virginia Franke Kleist, Dean, Mike Ilitch School of Business

Sheryl Kubiak, Dean, School of Social Work

Patrick O. Lindsey, Vice President for Government and Community Affairs

Julie Miller, University Secretary and Executive Officer to the Board of Governors

Ezemenari Obasi, Vice President for Research

Donyale Padgett, Interim Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer

Elena Past, Acting Dean, Irvin D. Reid Honors College

Michael Poterala, Vice President and General Counsel

David Ripple, Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs and President, Wayne State University Foundation

Wael Sakr, Dean, School of Medicine

Mark Schweitzer, Vice President for Health Affairs

Melissa Smiley, Chief of Staff and University Relations Officer

Ned Staebler, Vice President for Economic Development

Rob Thompson, Chief Information Officer and Associate Vice President for Computing and Information Technology

Erika Wallace, Director of Athletics